The assessment toolbox

Since starting in this world of assessment I’ve had this idea of my “assessment toolbox.” Re: When I sit down with someone to talk about an assessment project, what tools do I have that can help them?

This is where I’m struggling. My toolbox has the typical stuff – surveys, focus groups, interviews. It also has stuff for classroom learning – the informal questioning ideas during class, producing a reflection paper, etc.. I also have the ability to pull down student data and run simple models (and I have the software, and ability to learn, how to do more complex modeling). So, maybe my toolbox is big enough, but it doesn’t feel big enough.

Right now I’m procrastinating. I’ve got a meeting in 40 minutes about creating an assessment for a pilot program here at OSU Valley Library. I’m lucky to be in an environment where innovation is not only supported, but encouraged. So, of course I want to be innovative in my assessment practices, I want to bring something to my colleagues that they hadn’t thought of, but I’m struggling.

I’m wondering if others are too – are others struggling to build their toolbox. Is it just me, that I get bored (I do get bored easily)? How do others assess one-shots? How do others assess workshops? Hmm.. Any thoughts would be welcome.

About M. Brooke Robertshaw

Assessment Librarian at Oregon State University. I love stats, Safut (& Ayn Karim), big trees (Douglas firs), little boats in the water, & dogs in the woods. Pronouns: She/Her
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

